Infosys Awards Function 2017

Videos of the Scientific lectures

Lecture by Prof. Rupamanjari Ghosh

Lecture by Prof. Jaikumar Radhakrishnan

Speaker 1:

Prof. Rupamanjari Ghosh 
Vice-Chancellor, Shiv Nadar University

Prof. Rupamanjari Ghosh is the present Vice-Chancellor of Shiv Nadar University, Uttar Pradesh, India. She is a Professor of Physics with special interest in quantum optics and laser physics.

Prof. Ghosh obtained her M.Sc. degree in Physics from the University of Calcutta in 1980, and Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Rochester, USA in 1987. She was at the Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) from 1988 till 2012, where she held many important academic and administrative positions, including Dean of the School of Physical Sciences.

She joined the Shiv Nadar University (SNU) in 2012 as the Founding Director of the School of Natural Sciences. Later she held several other leading positions at SNU and became its Vice-Chancellor in 2016. She has also served as the Chief Advisor for the National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT) Science textbooks for Classes IX and X.

Besides her contribution to science research and training from the university to the school level, she is also well known for her stand and efforts to bring in gender justice and environment consciousness in the higher education system.

Her research interests are in experimental and theoretical quantum optics, laser physics, nonlinear optics, magneto-optics and quantum information. She has made pioneering contributions in quantum optics and quantum information, particularly in the creation and use of sources of single photons and entangled photon pairs.

Prof. Ghosh was awarded the Stree Shakti Science Samman in 2008.

Speaker 2:

Prof. Jaikumar Radhakrishnan
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research

Prof. Jaikumar Radhakrishnan is a computer scientist specialising in combinatorics and communication complexity.
Prof. Radhakrishnan obtained his B.Tech degree in Computer Science and Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur in 1985 and Ph.D. in Computer Science from Rutgers University, USA in 1991. He has been at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai since 1991, where he is currently a senior professor. He has served as Dean of the School of Technology and Computer Science at TIFR.
His areas of research include combinatorics, randomness, pseudorandomness, information theory, communication complexity, computational complexity theory, quantum computation and quantum information science. He is interested in applying algebraic, combinatorial, probabilistic and information theoretic tools for studying computational problems. He has contributed to results in approximation algorithms, circuit complexity, communication complexity and quantum computing.
Prof. Radhakrishnan was awarded the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology in the mathematical sciences in 2008.

Chief Guest:

Prof. Arvind Kumar
Former Centre Director, HBCSE

Prof. Arvind Kumar was Centre Director, HBCSE (TIFR) for the period 1994-2008, and Raja Ramanna Fellow at HBCSE till October 2013. Currently, he is a visiting faculty at the Centre for Excellence in Basic Sciences, Mumbai and a member of its Academic Board.
In his early pre-doctoral work at TIFR (1964-69), post-doctoral work at CERN, Geneva (1969-70), Westfield College, London (1970-71), and the University Department of Physics, Mumbai (1971-83) he researched in a range of areas of theoretical physics: particle theory, quantum black hole physics, atomic and optical physics. After joining HBCSE in 1984, he researched in the area of mathematical modeling of educational processes and the emerging field of physics education research.
His educational work spans across university through college to senior secondary and secondary stages. He was a member of the National Steering Committee for formulating the National Curriculum Frame-work (2005) and he chaired the Focus Group on Teaching of Science set up as part of this effort. He has authored/co-authored a number of curricular, co-curricular and expository books and materials at different levels.
He played a central role in launching the Science Olympiad programme in India in 1997, with HBCSE as its nodal Centre. For many years, he was also involved in a number of other national programmes aimed at attracting meritorious students to science. He helped establish a unique Ph.D. School in Science Education at HBCSE, as part of the TIFR Deemed University.
He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India. Among several honours, he received the INSA Teacher award (2014). In 2010, he was awarded ‘Padma Shree’ for distinguished service in the field of education.