About Olympiads

Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Education is the nodal centre of the country for Olympiad programmes in mathematics and sciences including astronomy. The programmes aim at promoting excellence in science and mathematics among pre-university students.

The Mathematics Olympiad is conducted under the aegis of the National Board of Higher Mathematics (NBHM).

From the Olympiad year beginning August 2008, a new integrated National Steering Committee  for  science and astronomy  Olympiads has been overseeing the entire activity in these subjects. The  subjects includes physics, chemistry, biology, astronomy, and junior science. The Olympiad programmes in  physics, chemistry, biology, astronomy (junior and senior level) and junior science are a five stage process for each subject separately. The first stage for each subject is organized by the Indian Association of Physics Teachers (IAPT). All the remaining  stages are organized by Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Education (HBCSE).

The programme is financially supported by Government of India, in particular, by Board of Nuclear Sciences (Department of Atomic Energy), Department of Science and Technology, Department of Space and Ministry of Human Resource Development.

For details of the five stage procedure, please click Subjects and go to the particular subject of your interest. To know the enrollment procedure for the first stage please click on Enrollment.

India hosted International Physics Olympiad 2015. Click here to know more.